Overview

A user represents an actual person within your organization. Each user will have their own contact information and notification preferences.

Permissions

In PagerTree there are 2 permission levels, Administrator and Non-Administrator. Their abilities are outlined in the following table.

Object AdministratorNon-Administrator
Usersview, add, edit, delete, inviteview all, edit themselves only
Teamsview, add, edit, deleteview
Integrationsview, add, edit, deleteview
Schedulesview, editview, edit
Reportsviewview
Broadcastsviewview

In addition to the above there are special permissions, namely:

  • Billing Administrator - ability to view, add, update billing information and subscription
  • Broadcast - ability to create broadcasts

Management

Self Management

PagerTree intentionally leaves it up to each user to maintain their own notification preferences and up-to-date contact information.

To update your contact information navigate to your profile page.

  1. Click your name in the upper right-hand corner. Then click Profile. Click Profile Link
    • Edit Notifications Preferences
      1. Toggle the switches on the notifications channels you would like to receive notifications on. Toggle Notification Settings
    • Edit Contact Info
      1. Click the Edit button. Click Profile Edit
      2. Modify some data (e.g. your location)
      3. Click the Save button. Click Save Button
    • Edit Profile Picture
      1. Click the Edit button. Click Profile Edit
      2. Click the Change Photo button. Click Change Photo Button
      3. Select a photo.
      4. Click the Save button. Click Save Button

Create A User

Note: This section requires Administrator permissions.
  1. In the left hand navigation menu, next to Users, click the ”+” button to open the create user form. Create User Button
  2. Provide at minimum a name and email for the user. You can additionally provide extra information, assign them to teams, and set their permissions.
  3. Click Create button. Create User Form

Invite Users

Note: This section requires Administrator permissions.
  1. Navigate to the Settings & Billing page. Click Settings & Billing Navigation
  2. Click the copy button. Copy Invite URL
  3. Send this link to your team. It’s very important you only share this link with people you trust! Anyone with this link will be able to join your account.

Delete A User

Note: This section requires Administrator permissions.
  1. Navigate to the Users page.
  2. Click the trashcan button next to the user you wish to delete. Click Trashcan Button
  3. Click the Delete button to confirm you would actually like to delete this user. Confirm Delete

Notification Rules

Note: Notification Rules require the Pro pricing plan.

Notification Rules allow users even more granular control on how they wish to be notified during the incident workflow.

Things to remember when working with notification rules:

  • only applicable to incident workflows
  • only the first rule that matches will actually be processed
  • the repeat action should be the last; any action(s) after the repeat action will be ignored
  • if no rules match, default notification settings will take effect
  • rules will be cancelled when the escalation layer times out

To configure notification rules:

  1. Click your name in the upper right-hand corner. Then click Profile. Click Profile Link
  2. Click the cogs icon in the upper right-hand corner of the Notification Settings section. Click Notification Rules Cogs
  3. Click the Add Rule link, to add rules. Configure them to your needs. Configure Notification Rules
  4. Click Save.